Tags

, , , , , ,

Summers call out for less makeup to avoid looking like a grease ball. Let’s face it..do we ever feel comfortable piling on the pancake when it’s sweltering hot outside and we can literally feel the foundation falling apart and wrecking havoc? No, right? So that is why you need to have separate makeup routine for every season so that you can enjoy the day while knowing you look smashing coz your skin’s breathing, makeup’s in place and so are you! Here’s the switch I make every summer..Of course some things will be there, but skin comes first every season!

Idea note_20130412_172542_01-1

Face : Switch that liquid foundation with a great oil free,mineral one or a BB cream!

I use Maybelline’s BB stick as it’s meant for oily, acne-prone skin.Not that I bought the salicyclic acid hype, but, yeah if it’s there, great! It keeps my face relatively oil free for a long time. So even after a long day, my face looks fresh! Plus SPF 21 PA+++(?) Only downside is, if you have combination skin, it shows up the dry patches.

For spotty blemishes, I use my trust MAC’s Studio Finish concealer. Use concealer only on the blemish, especially such creamy ones.

Cheeks : OK. Seriously, put that cream or patchy powder blush away,please?

I switch my heavy cream and patch-prone powder blushes with a liquid lip/cheek stain like the one from The Body Shop. It’s a lovely pink that works well against my skin tone and gives a lovely natural looking blush.

Eyes : Keep it simple sweety.

To cover the dull looking eyelids I use Maybelline’s Eye Tattoo in Bold Gold to glamorize an otherwise ordinary look! Smooth it over sparingly to create the look of this season’s in look-metallic lids!

Lashes, lashes, lashes! Just wear a single layer of mascara. I use Maybelline’s Falsies mascara. I hold the wand against the root of my lashes, gently pressig them upwards to get a curl as well.

Eyebrows frame the face, so never miss out on eyebrow powder to keep the look free of drama yet defined. I use NYC’s browkit

Lips : Don’t load on the lip liner, lipstick and gloss!

I keep a tinted lipbalm handy during summers to keep my lips protected from the dryness and also add color. However, this summer, coral has captured my heart and I love this deliciously fruity scented ultra moisturizing lip gloss from Maybelline in Coral Sunset.

So that’s a simple summer routine for makeup that I follow. Although the products may change, the concept behind what type of product to use in summer remains the same! Cheers and have a great summer time! πŸ™‚

